Under the EEA agreement, Norway and Norwegians have the same rights and obligations as other EEA countries and their citizens in trade, investment, banking and insurance, as well as the purchase and sale of services. They have the same right to work, study and live in other EEA countries. The Schengen agreements in Europe also facilitate trade between countries and trade. If a U.S. citizen intends to visit or travel to European countries, you should know the requirements of the Schengen Agreement. The Schengen Agreement is a treaty creating Europe`s Schengen area, which consists of 26 countries where internal border controls for short-term tourism, business travel or travel across the country to a non-Schengen destination have been largely abolished. On 18 November 2013, the European Commission concluded that “the participation of small countries in the EEA is not currently considered a viable option for political and institutional reasons” and that association agreements are a more practical mechanism for integrating micro-states into the internal market. [58] Third countries of the EEA are not represented in European Union institutions such as the European Parliament or the European Commission. This situation has been described as a `fax democracy`, with Norway waiting for its most recent legislation to be faxed by the Commission.

[71] [72] However, EEA countries are consulted on new EU legislative proposals and quickly participate in the development of legislation. The EEA agreement contains provisions for the contributions of EEA/EFTA countries at various stages prior to the adoption of the legislation, including the approval of the EEA Joint Committee. After approval by the EEA Joint Committee, it is part of the EEA agreement and EFTA states within the EEA must transpose it into their national legislation. [73] In mid-2005, representatives of the Faroe Islands indicated that their territory could join EFTA. [48] However, the absorption capacity of fairies is uncertain, given that, under Article 56 of the EFTA Convention, only States can become members of the association. [49] The ferocious members of the Danish Empire are not sovereign states and, according to a report prepared for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Sons, “because the fairies are not a state, they cannot become parties to the EEA agreement under their constitutional status.” [50] However, the report indicated that it was possible that the “Kingdom of Denmark would be able to join EFTA with regard to wires”.” [50] The Danish government has stated that cases cannot become independent members of the EEA, given that Denmark is already a party to the EEA agreement. [50] The Fedes have already concluded a comprehensive bilateral free trade agreement with Iceland, known as the Hoyvék Agreement.